Rock n Roll Dallas in Photos

3 Apr

On Sunday March 25, I, along with a few thousand other not so smart people hit the road for the 2012 Dallas Rock n Roll Half Marathon.  It was the first truly hot day of the year, making it a not so hot day for running.

That lady totally stole my thunder.

This was my worst timed half so far.  I am literally getting more terrible at these.  Mainly because I’ve got a bad habit of going in slightly unprepared.

At least I finish, right?  And I have not died yet which is a pretty big positive.  Mayhaps I can try a little harder and still not die?  I’ll have to try to find out.

Kissy face for the cameraman.

My time for this was 20 seconds slower than New Orleans – a race in which I fell and ate pavement knocking at least 5 minutes off my total time.  I’m going to go ahead and blame the heat (on top of my unpreparedness, of course).

Still Alive.

My parents and my nephews met me at the finish which was a fun surprise.  My older nephew asked me if I won.  Isn’t that precious?  I asked him if he noticed the 10,000 other people who finished before me.

And here is really the only picture from this day that matters.

Is that kid awesome or what?  His dad took the photo for us and he was anything but proud.

Next on the Half agenda is The Oklahoma City Memorial Half on April 29th.  Here’s hoping for some redemption.

Leave a Reply

