Nawlinz, y’all

8 Mar

I should probably do some sort of recap about Rock ‘n Roll New Orleans, huh?

I fell.  Its the first time I’ve ever fallen in a race.  The roads for the majority of the run were not great.  But, you know, the city has been through a lot so you can’t get too ticked off at them.  My knee is pretty jacked up, but I’ll spare you that image.  I’m just glad all I ran away with were scrapes and bruises!  And lots of shame.

Ready to get this over with.

This is a fabulous course to do if you are looking for something fast and flat.  It felt like the first 10 miles were all downhill, and 7 or so of those miles were out and back so I’m not exactly sure how that works.  The only ‘hill’ was a tiny little bridge.  It was divine.

I promise I was really moving.  Really.

The scenery was entertaining and definitely kept me distracted.  We ran up and back down St. Charles along some gorgeous historical homes, and then headed down through the French Quarter before running down another residential area into the lovely Louis Armstrong Park.

Over it

The finish line was stocked with the usual goodies, water, bananas, bagels, Snickers Marathon bars, and my favorite – chocolate milk.  I grabbed my goods, had my knees and ankles wrapped in ice and then collapsed in the grass so I could try to track down my friends.

Due to the number of folks at the after party cell phone service kind of sucked, but I suppose that is to be expected with that many people around.  It took awhile, but miraculously we reunited our whole crew.  There were six of us that did the race, but it never occurred to us to take a photo all together.  The beer lines were short (!!!) so we all took our free beers and lounged in the park drinking and people watching for awhile.  There were some characters out there, y’all.

All in all a great race.  Especially since I wasn’t in the mood to do it.  At all.  If my friends would have let me I probably would have never left the hotel and just slept through it all.  Alas, I got up, ran 13 miles and I’m so glad I did.  Mostly because I love the mardi gras bead necklace.  Totally worth it.

2 Responses to “Nawlinz, y’all”

  1. Paula @ Eat: Watch: Run March 8, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    Holy! I love the beads instead of the regular ribbon for the medal. SUPER cool. Sorry about the fall, but that just makes you officially hard core especially since you finished.

  2. rachelstrong March 10, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    that “hill” bridge was one thing, but the three mile stretch of slanting road leading up to it was quite another – i’m surprised my clumsy legs kept me upright!

    glad to see you blogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

