Top 5 Favorite Oldies

18 Aug

Today I must link up with the fabulous Meghan (whose blog I recently discovered and love!) and share my top 5 fave oldies.

I grew up listening to the jams my parents loved when they were teenageers, so viva le 60s!  For you Dallas peeps, I’m all about KLUV-in’ my oldies and what not.

The only travesty here is that there is zero representation from the Dirty Dancing soundtrack… I think those jams deserve their own post, no?

1.  I Will Follow Him – Little Peggy March
Especially this here Sister Act version

2. Sugar Sugar – The Archies
Because of this scene from Now and Then.  Two Words:  Devon Sawa.

3.  Crimson and Clover – Tommy James and the Shondells
When my brother was in high school he had an obsession with the song, so naturally I had an obsession with this song.

4.  I Can’t Help Myself – The Four Tops
I fell in love with this song when it was on the Forrest Gump soundtrack.

5.  You Can’t Hurry Love – The Supremes
Let’s be honest here… I really love this because Phil Collins covered it.

6 Responses to “Top 5 Favorite Oldies”

  1. Jamie August 18, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    I would have been offended if Phil wasn’t even mentioned. Thank god you pulled through!

    • linzlikewhoa August 18, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

      I will somehow manage to ALWAYS put Phil on pretty much any music list.

  2. [SMASH] at Sweat. Style. Swoon. August 18, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    GREAT PICKS though I knew you’d have great ones because you have awesome musical taste! 😀 Yes, that song always reminds me of Now & Then!

  3. Melissa August 18, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    This really makes me want to watch Now and Then.

    • linzlikewhoa August 18, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

      Right?! $2 on amazon, I’m all over it.

  4. Meghan August 19, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    I used to be obsessed with “Now & Then” – that soundtrack was AMAZING! And Devon Sawa = major hottie! Ha!

    Thanks for linking up, lady! I adore your list. “Sugar Sugar” always puts a smile on my face!

Leave a Reply

