Boot Camp: Episode 1

10 Aug

Oh dear god.

So I have to admit that signing up to do an outdoor boot camp when its 105 degrees outside may not have been my brightest decision.  Mayhaps I should have cashed in an indoor LivingSocial/Groupon/Zozi deal instead.

Oh well too late for that!

When I left my place my trusty iPhone informed me that it was 105 degrees here in Big D.  Seriously.

Four of us showed up to class, three of us were newcomers.  Mr. Boot Camp Instructor Dude didn’t seem overly social or friendly.  He seemed to warm up a little as the hour went by, but when his first question to me was asking if I had ever worked out, I wasn’t exactly overly excited.

We did a warm up which included running a lap around the park, jumping jacks, up downs, and high knees.  We did several minutes of core work followed by three rounds of a circuit that focused on squats and shoulders.  My shoulders were still sore from Sunday’s BodyPump so this totally killed me.  We rounded out class with with some boxing which continued to murder my shoulders.

I think I would have enjoyed this A LOT more had it not been so very hot outside.  I’ve been told it gets easier week by week, so here’s hoping that rings true.


Word.

2 Responses to “Boot Camp: Episode 1”

  1. Eat: Watch: Run August 10, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    That sounds a lot like Crossfit and I’m here to tell you, it never gets easier because they crazy instructors see you getting stronger and then just ask you to do more reps or do things faster or for time. Bonus though? You get super strong and can beat people up!

  2. [SMASH] at Sweat. Style. Swoon. August 10, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I’m sure you did awesome, girl. That 105 heat is no one’s friend.

Leave a Reply

