August Work Out Jams – I Love Old Men

10 Aug

Phil Collins – Something Happened on the Way to Heaven
I.  Love.  Phil.  Collins.  Its an undying love I don’t ever remember not feelingFun Fact:  There is a video of me dirty dancing by myself to One More Night when I was four.  Easter Sunday.  Hair in Princess Leia buns.  True story.
Phil is one of those artists I can’t help but sing along with when I’m working out.  If you hear someone crying out Su Su Sudio on the Katy Trail, its probably me.

Tom Petty – Won’t Back Down
I love me some Tom Petty.  Won’t Back Down pushes me not to back down.  Stand my ground.  Stuff like that.

Aerosmith – Falling in Love is Hard on the Knees
I just love 90s Aerosmith.  So many good jams.  I like to rock out to this on the treadmill and pump up the speed on the chorus. 

The Eagles – Take it Easy
The Eagles had a large presence in my youth.  My dad and brother were big fans.  When  I was nine my brother held me hostage in his car until I memorized Hotel California and to this day I hate that song.  Take it Easy still rocks my face off, though.

Jimmy Buffet – Cheeseburger in Paradise
This song just reinforces that I’m working out so I can go eat a cheeseburger. 

James Taylor – Fire and Rain
Ahh, a cool down song.  One of my BFFs got me hooked on JT (Justin who?) in college and there was no turning back.  You can count on Mr. Taylor to help you cool it down.

4 Responses to “August Work Out Jams – I Love Old Men”

  1. Lesley @ Racing It Off August 10, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Eagles are my favorite EVER.

  2. [SMASH] at Sweat. Style. Swoon. August 10, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    I support your music choices!

  3. Meghan August 11, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    SHUT UP!!!!!!!!!

    I don’t mean to yell at you, but “Something Happened on the Way to Heaven” IS MY JAM!!!

    I swear. Most of my workout music comes from Phil Collins or Steely Dan. I think iTunes thinks I am a 50 year old man.

    We’re destined to be friends…

    • linzlikewhoa August 11, 2011 at 4:36 am #

      Shut your mouth!
      Something Happened on the Way to Heaven is THE jam!
      And good call on Steely Dan, I knew something was missing form this list.

Leave a Reply

