Race Review: Melon Dash

9 Aug

This past Saturday I headed up to the ‘burbs in McKinney to join a bunch of other crazies in running the Melon Dash.  The race used to be known as the McKinney Historical run as the route goes through downtown McKinney and through some of the lovely historical neighborhoods.

This run was my ‘let’s get real’, ‘Linz needs a reality check like whoa’ run.  I’ve been crazily slacking in the running department for several months and its time to get back in action.  If I start racing in ridiculously hot conditions, it can only get easier right?  Let’s just say I got my reality check.  My official finish time of 37:38 told me that loud and clear.

Nowhere to go but up, right?

My friend Leslie and I arrived about 20 minutes before the 5k was supposed to start.  Parking was a breeze, we found an awesome spot on the street a block away from the start/finish line.  Unfortunately the race was on a 15 minute delay, which meant it was going to be 15 minutes hotter.  This time of year every minute counts.

The out and back course started off in the square in downtown McKinney before heading off to the residential neighborhoods.
There was a lot of shade along the course which was fantastic.  They had one water stop near the halfway point – you hit it going and coming.
Running directly into the sun beats running on the sun… I guess.
For a small race, this one had a lot of spectators and cheering sections.  The volunteers and even the police were getting into it, cheering runners on.  Thanks McKinney!  It was so hot, I needed all the motivation I could scrounge up.
I got lots of awesome blurry pictures of beautiful historic homes.  This one here could be yours.
They had a great selection of post race goodies for your enjoyment.  Iced down rags, popsicles, melon (duh), Fuze drinks, water, bananas… and I didn’t even make to to the big slew of tents.  Lots of treats to be had.  McKinney, I like your style.
Unintentionally awkward smile for the official photographer.  Well done, Linz.  Thank you Jerry Glover Photography.

Despite the heat, this was a good, small race.  With the exception of the 15 minute delay, everything was well organized.  I would totally do this race again.  By this time next year I’ll have forgotten how ridiculously hot it was.

Did y’all know the day before this race a woman got second degree burns on her feet from the hot sidewalk in McKinney.  Crazy!

5 Responses to “Race Review: Melon Dash”

  1. Bethlin August 9, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Hooray for getting back into racing! I am putting off running until I get back from a trip to OKC where I get to sit still in the heat while other people do the athletic work. I am thinking the same thing though – if I start in August in Texas, then as I am getting back into better shape, the weather will be improving, so my times and other such metrics will be better by leaps and bounds.

    • linzlikewhoa August 9, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      Exactly! It can only get better from here!

  2. [SMASH] at Sweat. Style. Swoon. August 10, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    Good for you getting out and racing. Loving your race tank! Will it EVER cool down?

    • linzlikewhoa August 10, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Never ever. We are all going to melt. The tank is Champion and it is sooo comfortable!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Too much? « Pretty Awkward - September 21, 2011

    […] a regular part of my routine again I’ve stuck to ye olde treadmill with the exception of this race.  And while I do enjoy the occasional challenge, running a PRnRPDR (Post Rock n Roll Personal […]

Leave a Reply

