Book Club Friday: I’d Know You Anywhere

5 Aug

Its Friday, which means its time to link up with Heather to celebrate Book Club Friday!
Today I am covering I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman.
Eliza Benedict, a 38-year-old married mother of two living in suburban Maryland, receives a letter from Walter Bowman, the man who kidnapped her the summer she was 15 and is now on death row. The narrative shifts between the present and that long ago summer, when Eliza involuntarily became a part of Walter’s endless road trip, including the fateful night when he picked up another teenage girl, Holly Tackett. Soon after Walter killed Holly, Eliza was rescued and taken home. Eliza must now balance a need for closure with a desire to protect herself emotionally. Walter wants something specific from her, but she has no idea what, and she’s not sure that she wants to know. All the relationships, from the sometimes contentious one between Eliza and her sister, Vonnie, to the significantly stranger one between Walter and Barbara LaFortuny, an advocate for prisoners, provide depth and breadth to this absorbing story.

I bought I’d Know You Anywhere on my Kindle a couple months ago and just got down to reading it last week.  This book pretty much had me from the get go – when Eliza reads the letter from Walter.  The chapters switch back and forth from present day to the 1980s when Walter begins killing young girls and then when he stumbles upon Elizabeth.  Grown up Eliza has to face dealing with hearing from her childhood kidnapper while hiding it from her teenage daughter and young son as they do not know about their mother’s past.  As the date of Walter’s execution grows closer, more and more people start crawling out from Eliza’s past.

It was interesting to read the situations from the criminals side, how he manages to rationalize everything he does from kidnapping, rape and murder.  I’d Know You Anywhere makes me want to read something on a real life case, such as Jaycee Dugard or Elizabeth Smart.

4 Responses to “Book Club Friday: I’d Know You Anywhere”

  1. nataliegracie August 5, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Wow! This looks crazy good! I just bought “the Help” last night, but definitely want to add this to my “must reads!” Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Becca August 5, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    I read this book! I’m glad to see someone else has and linked up to share. I really enjoyed it. It was so different from anything else I’ve read recently.

    Love,
    B

  3. jennie August 5, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Holy crap. This sounds like a doozy! It sure sounds like a memoir, crazy that it’s fiction!

  4. Heather August 8, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    This sounds like an awesome read!! I am adding it to my list now.

Leave a Reply

