Journaling

1 Aug

I’ve kept stupid numbers of journals in my life.  In elementary school I had an entire diary dedicated to what my dream house would be like.

Pro:  It was on a beach

Con:  Everything was purple and teal.

Though I probably would live in a house that was all purple and teal if it happened to be on the beach.  Like this one.

What was I talking about?  Oh.  Journals.  Right.

I guess blogging is technically journaling.  Tracking my life, workouts and cake intake.

Several months ago a lovely coworker of mine gave me a journal.  A running journal.

To track my runs!  And I’m actually using it.  A whole week’s worth of runs look at me go.

I may like this more than tracking online because I can keep it in my car and write it down as soon as I get in my car after a run.  All my runs are taking place on the treadmill right now and I tend to forget details in the 4 minute drive to my house.

It includes spots for route, distance, notes and crosstraining.  I like this because instead of just noting my distance I can make notes like ‘wanted to die’ or ‘felt awesome’ or even ‘I love running!”.

I think this will be good to go through near the end of my training to track improvement (please, God, let there be improvement!) or after the race to see what led to my awesome success.  Yay for the power or positive thinking.

Random Fact o’ the day:  I have been listening to the Summer Hits of the 90s station on Pandora for over and hour and at least every other song has been a Disney song  I’ve heard a wide selection (Broadway cast recording and original motion picure soundtracks ) of Aladdin, Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid, Pocahontas, Hercules, Oliver and Company (!!), The Lion King… I could go on.  Its ridiculous how well my Pandora knows me.

I’m totally adding this to my workout mix.

Leave a Reply

