Book Club Friday Round 1

29 Jul

Today I am linking up with Heather for book club Friday!

This week I’m covering A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron.

I am a huge fan of dog books, but since the ridiculous tragedy that was Marley & Me (pretty sure I cried ugly, snotty tears for days after both the book and the movie), I haven’t picked one up.  A co-worker of mine was raving about A Dog’s Purpose a couple weeks ago so I decided to give it ago.

I loved it.

Here is the synopsis:

A tail-wagging three hanky boo-hooer, this delightful fiction debut by newspaper columnist Cameron (8 Simple Rules for Marrying My Daughter) proposes that a dog’s purpose might entail being reborn several times. Told in a touching, doggy first-person, this unabashedly sentimental tale introduces Toby, who’s rescued by a woman without a license for her rescue operation, so, sadly, Toby ends up euthanized. He’s reborn in a puppy mill and after almost dying while left in a hot car, he’s saved again by a woman, and he becomes Bailey, a beloved golden retriever, who finds happiness and many adventures. His next intense incarnation is as Ellie, a female German shepherd, a heroic search and rescue dog. But the true purpose of this dog’s life doesn’t become totally clear until his reincarnation as Buddy, a black Lab. A book for all age groups who admire canine courage, Cameron also successfully captures the essence of a dog’s amazing capacity to love and protect.

I tend to love books that make me weep and this one succeeded in spades.  I loved reading the dog’s perspective on being ‘fixed’, being house trained, losing owners, and superiority to cats.  By far, the high point of this book was when Bailey finds his boy Ethan.  Throughout his remaining lives his love for Ethan is ever strong.

Any animal lovers should definitely pick up this book.  It has you in tears and the next thing you know you are laughing out loud  The quick pace makes it an easy and fast read.

4 Responses to “Book Club Friday Round 1”

  1. Heather July 29, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Oh gosh, I really think I’d ugly cry reading this one!! Haha

  2. MEGAN MALOUF July 29, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    I cried when I read and watched Marley and Me as well. I might have to give this one a try, I love dogs.

    Thanks for linking up!

  3. Tyly @ One Mile at a Time July 29, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Oh my gosh. My dog PRAYS that I don’t watch or read Marley and Me ever again, because I didn’t quit hugging and crying on him for weeks! I only had one at the time, so it would probably be even worse now!!

    And WHAT?!?!? What is this pudding pie you speak of?!?! They DID NOT have that flavor!!! The cinnamon was delicious, and we also had sea salted caramel, pb&j, peanut butter, chewy caramel, and peanut better. I’m drooling just thinking about them…

    • linzlikewhoa July 29, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

      Oh the PB&J ones are so good, too! Next time you stumble upon an Ethel’s try the pudding pie. To die for!

Leave a Reply

