No Televsion?

28 Jul

Back in June I did something totally blasphemous.  I canceled my cable & DVR service.

Temporarily.  Probably.

Alas I have not watched TV in my own place since June 4.

This might go down as the greatest achievement in my life.  You know, thus far.

It started when I found myself watching crap after crap.  The thoughts in my head were ‘oh, I’ll go to the gym when I’m done watching this episode of Real Housewives that I’ve already seen 17 times already’.  Then of course I’d have to watch the episode after that and then… well you can figure out hos this ends.

My TV was just becoming too much of a distraction.  There are projects I want to get done around my condo, books I want to read, pounds I need to lose.  So far I haven’t really missed it.  Anything ‘must see’  has been available online, anything else.  I’m only committed to doing this for the summer, until my faves come back on.

Until the fall seasons start up, I know I’ll survive without a problem.  My place is cleaner than ever, my closet is more organized, and I haven’t read this many books in so little time since I was in school.  I’d say my at home productivity is at an all time high.

I know technically I could go buy one of those antennae thingies I mentioned above but in the meantime I’m good.  If I decide I like having the extra $140 a month in my pocket, I may look for a cable alternative.

But as of right now, I’ll be calling Time Warner in September to bring back my long lost love.  Hopefully I won’t miss too many fabulous catfights from my fave Real Housewives.


9 Responses to “No Televsion?”

  1. [SMASH] at Sweat. Style. Swoon. July 28, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Good for you! My first year living on my own in Dallas, I was cable-less. Mostly just too lazy to set it set-up, installed, and pay for it. But even though I didn’t have it, I just watched a lot of DVDs instead [I own all the Friends seasons!]. I applaud your motivation!

    But you may want to avoid my post tomorrow — it’s all about my DVR and favorite recordings of the summer! 😛

    • linzlikewhoa July 28, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      I would never avoid that! I have to live vicariously through somebody 🙂

  2. Lucy July 28, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    I’ve thought about the same thing! Everything is online. My laundry needs my attention, but TV is so much more entertaining.

    • linzlikewhoa July 28, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

      Its definitely worth a try. I’m not sure how committed I am, so freezing was a good option for me. I pay $5 a month won’t have to pay any start up/device/whatever fees when (or if?) they turn my service back on.

  3. Lesley@RacingItOff July 28, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    I’ve been without cable for 5 years. We do have a hi def antenna for the 4 network stations. We’ve never had a DVR. We couldn’t believe the cost. We do, however, watch a lot of netflix!

    • linzlikewhoa July 28, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      Netflix has been my BFF! I need to look into the digital antenna thing, or at least figure out what will work best in my area.

  4. Tara @ texasrunnergirl.com July 28, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Brave woman! I couldn’t do it… wait, I was channeling my husband. I could totally do it, he couldn’t.

    • linzlikewhoa July 28, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      I don’t know any dudes who would be willing to give up their cable!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Awesome TV Moments « Pretty Awkward - August 8, 2011

    […] have to admit I’ve done a lot of youtubing since I froze my cable.  There are some things I find myself watching over and over again.  Like comfort food for my […]

Leave a Reply

