Training for Tink

26 Jul

Signing up for the Tinkerbell Half has greatly motivated me to get down to business with my running.  I have been a major slacker in the running department since the Rock n Roll Half Marathon.

I can count on both hands how many times I have run since that race.  Major sadness. 

The past few days I’ve been trying to figure out a sustainable training plan, and I think I’ve come up with one that may work.

I needed to accommodate a boot camp I signed up for for next month (Thanks LivingSocial!), and I wanted to make sure I could still fit in my favorite Monday night spin class and my (occasional) Saturday morning training session.  I am planning on signing up for Run On’s Trot On class that starts in September, which will give me a group to run with!

I also added in a couple of ‘0’ weeks to get my body adjusted to running again.  After that, its all ‘real’ training.  This race is going to be here before I know it!  The Melon Dash will be a good 5k to zap me back to reality and show me where I really stand with my running right now.  I’d like to find a 5k race for September but  I’m gone most of that month so I may have to find an out of town race.

If any one knows a fun 5k in Austin in September let me know!

Also, read these:
You can tell a lot from a person’s nails (love Maegan)
Why we miss being children in the 80s and 90s (TresSugar)

2 Responses to “Training for Tink”

  1. [SMASH] at Sweat. Style. Swoon. July 26, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Wow, great plan!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. True Life: I’m a Healthy Living Blogger (kinda) « Pretty Awkward - September 9, 2011

    […] tell the world what my plan is helps me make it into the gym a little easier.  I’m currently training for my third half marathon, but when I’m not running the stairmaster is my favorite form of […]

Leave a Reply

