For the love of onion rings

23 Jun

I ventured out to happy hour last Friday at my fave place for the summer, Katy Trail Icehouse.

We were in the mood for something ridiculous and delicious so we decided to go for the onion rings.

Holy OMIGOD.

Om-to-the-nom-nom.

Do you see the ginormousity of that thing?  Crazy.  And they were delicious.  A little peppery, fried perfection.  Some days you just got to, right?

There was also a little of this action.

Viva the Beerita!  The beer totally dilutes the sweetness of the frozen ‘rita.  Delicioso.

Have you ever tried the Beerita (or Michelada or any other weird beer/booze combos?

Where did you get the best onion rings you’ve ever had?
Mine were hands down at Leonard’s in Memphis last month.  If you go to Memphis, you must try.


5 Responses to “For the love of onion rings”

  1. [SMASH] at Sweat. Style. Swoon. June 23, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Not a big onion ring fan [bring on the fried pickles for me!] but I’d be down to try the beerita — looks odd but I’ve probably drank worse. 😉

  2. rachel June 23, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    omg i think i want – nay, NEED – a beerita in my life! and i heart me some fried pickles, too. sounds like we need to schedule a date! i’ll be in austin sooooooooon

    -rachel

  3. Lesley @ Racing It Off June 24, 2011 at 2:41 am #

    This phrase – “Om-to-the-nom-nom.” has me CRACKING up. 😉

  4. Kristin W June 24, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    I’ve seen the beeritas through others before, but never in a restaurant I’ve been to. I HAVE to try one!

Leave a Reply

