May Workout Jams

11 May

Music is in integral part of my workout routine.  Without it I would not work out nearly as hard or half as often.  It keeps me going.

Here are my current favorites, that I always turn up when they pop up on the old iPod.

Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up
This song is the jam, I can’t resist the urge to dance to it, even if I’m on the elliptical machine during peak gym hours.  Stare at me, I’m being rick rolled, I don’t care.  This song came on around mile 10 during the Disney Princess half and had me dancin’ down those long stretches of highway.

Whitney Houston – I Wanna Dance With Somebody
This song reminds me of 13 Going on 30 and reminds me that if I want a closet full of amazing clothes like J Garner has in that movie I need to burn some calories.

Madonna – Hung Up
Another song that makes me want to dance my face off.  It was a hard call between Hung Up and Sorry from the same album.

ACDC – If You Want Blood
This song is just bad ass.  I like to do air drums to it while I run.  Also, it reminds me of my fave movie Empire Records.

The Growing Pains Theme Song
For real.  I listened to this song at least a dozen times during the Rock n Roll Dallas Half.  Awesomeness.  The only thing bad about it is it is super short.

Andrew WK – Party hard
This song makes me run fast (fast for me that is)

Nelly Furtado – Maneater
I may or may not lip sync to this song when I’m working out to it, constant reminder that just because people can’t hear what you’re saying doesn’t mean the can’t see you.  Hope all you Gold’s members out there have appreciated my performances

Pussycat Dolls – Top of the World (The City theme song)
This is one of my favorite songs to conquer on the stepmill.  I will climb to the top of the world on these steps to nowhere, thank you.

4 Responses to “May Workout Jams”

  1. [SMASH] at Sweat. Style. Swoon. May 11, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    These are awesome! I totally got rick rolled on Tumblr the other day but a girl who posted it as one of her fave workout jams too! 😀 I like the variety you have.

  2. Lucy May 13, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I think one of the best workout songs is “Survivor” by Destiny’s Child….when you feel like quitting, it gives me that extra push!

  3. tara May 18, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    ha ha ha ha about the growing pains theme song. I’m gonna have to get the Golden Girls theme song on my playlist. Love it!

    • linzlikewhoa May 18, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

      Oooh, the Golden Girls song is classic! Love.

Leave a Reply

