Whew!

9 May

I am sitting on my couch for the first time since Wednesday and it feels glorious.  What a weekend!

I kicked off the weekend by heading to Miss Jen Lancaster‘s book signing on Friday night after work.  A few of us hit up happy hour at Blue Mesa for their $4 margaritas and then wandered over to Barnes & Noble.

If you haven’t read her books, she’s written several absolutely hilarious memoirs (Bitter is the New Black, Bright Lights Big Ass, Such a Pretty Fat, Pretty in Plaid and My Fair Lazy) and she just released her first novel, If You Were Here.

She read an excerpt from the novel that had several laugh out loud moments, did a Q&A in which she filled us in on her new neighbors, her thoughts on Bravo’s finest TV programming (Real Housewives and Pregnant in Heels!) and her next books.  She will be releasing another novel and another memoir in 2012!

We waited in line to have our books signed and photos taken, I look completely geeked out in my pic.

Awkward!

From the book signing I headed to my BFFs for a little get together of our besties to catch up and what not.

Saturday I got up before the crack of dawn to go volunteer at White Rock Lake Centennial Half Marathon.  This was my first time volunteering at a race so I didn’t really know what to expect.  My shift was from 6-9 and I was scheduled to work the beer tent, as you can imagine the beer tent does not have much going on at that time.  The beer didn’t even arrive until almost 8 so I busied myself manning the water and PowerAde station.


We didn’t have much going on in our empty beer tent so I headed off to watch the start.  It was a beautiful morning for a run, I was slightly jealous I wasn’t out there with everybody.  Lesley ran the race and I can’t wait to read her recap!  I had to head out shortly after 9 for an appointment with my trainer and I was kind of bummed because it would have been a blast to stick around for the finishers.  Oh well, next time!

I headed to The Burbs in the afternoon to meet up with my mama.  First stop was the nail salon!  I went with this option.

The name escapes me, but I do love it.  It just screams that summer is on its way.

We did a little shopping and I got a super cute dress to wear to a friend’s wedding next weekend then headed off to Gerhard’s with my dad and aunt for a little German fare.

David Beckham was there.

They had random football (soccer) players on the walls.  Hot men are my kind of decor.

I spent the night at the Gaylord Texan with my parents and tried to break into their fake Alamo.

Feel free to ignore the marm (marm= massive arm) and the terrible picture, my mom is not known for her mad photography skills.

Sunday brought a ridiculous brunch buffet where I was too busy stuffing my face to take pictures.  I did capture this deliciosity.

I am so obsessed with these, I cannot even tell you.

We welcomed my brother and his fam back from Disney World and hit up Cracker Barrel for lunch with the extended family, its Granny’s fave.  I just seethed and sulked in jealousy listening to all the Disney World stories, I seriously cannot wait to go back.

I hit up the gym when I got home and now I’m making up for lost time with my couch and DVR, my kind of Sunday night.

Enough chit chat, let’s get down to business shall we?

Workouts for the Week
Sunday:  45 minutes on the elliptical (done!)
Monday:  Spin
Tuesday: Pump
Wednesday:  Elliptical
Thursday:  Katy 5k!
Friday:  Arkansas – rest, swim or short hike
Saturday:  Arkansas – rest, swim or short hike

I would give you a full recap of last week but let’s keep this as short as possible since I’ve rambled on forevs.  I can tell you that I stood and danced a lot on Sunday, rested on Monday, Thursday and Friday and thoroughly had my butt kicked on Tuesday, Wednesday and Saturday.

Its a new week peeps, what is yours bringing?

2 Responses to “Whew!”

  1. Tyly May 9, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    Um… WOW. I am so beyond jealous that you met and took a picture with Jen Lancaster. I freakin’ LOVE her!!!! LOVE HER!!!!

  2. [SMASH] at Sweat. Style. Swoon. May 9, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Wow, busy weekend! I’ll have to look into that author — some of those titles look familiar.

Leave a Reply

