Memphis in Pictures

4 May

So Thursday night I flew up to OKC so that my friends and I could get an early (5am!) start on the road.  We wanted to get to Memphis with plenty of time to play before the festival began that night.

First things first, hotel room photo shoot.  Its tradition.

Once we got tired of taking pictures of ourselves (like that ever happens), we hopped in a cab with a bunch of strangers and hit up Beale Street.  Luckily, we made a new friend.

That thing was a mystery mix of beer, wine, champagne and liquor.  You better believe it was McNasty.  Thankfully they gave us enough straws so we were able to finish it.

We also picked up Jell-O shots in syringes on our way out… keepin’ it class, y’all.

Please note this horse has purple Ke$ha glitter hooves.

We get by with a little help from our friends…

We had to wait in line for a bit to get into the festival, it got a bit awkward up in there.

Friday night we saw Cage the Elephant, Everclear,  Flaming Lips, Jason Mraz, Stone Temple Pilots and Slightly Stoopid.  I was totally stoked about STP, but the fans over there were such rude fools we ended up ditching that stage for Mr. Mraz.  We’re at a fun music festival, let’s all be happy and not shove girls, mmmkay?

Chill.

Saturday night we were super pumped for Mumford and Sons, Ke$ha and Luda.  We decided to get a little dressed up.

I know you can’t tell from the photo, but there was glitter EVERYWHERE in our hotel room.  Talking about going hard core where there’s glitter on the floor.

Oh hello there Ludacris.  His performance was the highlight of the festival for me.  Every song you know by him, he performed.  I forgot how much Luda I knew and loved.  So many songs reminded me of college days, it was awesome.  I love you Luda, I’ll move to the ATL so we can be BFF.

Sunday brought the mud and rain so we postponed heading down to Beale to hit up some barbecue.  We landed at Leonard’s, which had been featured on Diner’s Drive Ins and Dives on the Food Network.  It was tasty yummy.  They had the best onion rings I’ve ever had in my life.

I had a pulled pork sammich, with a side of spaghetti (I know, right?) and the most amazing honey apples ever.  I’m going to stalk down that recipe like my life depends on it.

We also drove by Tom’s  (also featured on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives), they were closed but I had to take a photo of this awesome sign.

It rained and several shows were cut short.  We ended up missing JJ Grey and Mofro and Amos Lee due to weather.  My galoshes were put to excellent use.

While it poured outside we grabbed a spot inside Club 152 on Beale to listen to some blues.

We ventured into the festival for the Avett Brothers and then peaced out.  Shows were running over an hour behind and we had to get back on the road to OKC.

We stopped at a Love’s Gas Station in West Memphis, Arkansas for gas, coffee and snacks and the kind folks behind the counter informed us that Osama Bin Laden had been killed!  I will always remember where I was when I heard that news.  We got in the car and turned on NPR to wait for the President’s speech, but they didn’t play it, at least not live, and we missed it.  Thanks to the twitter I found it online and did a dramatic reading for my friends.

After a loooong drive with lots of rain, thunder and lightening, we rolled into OKC around 5:30 in the am… almost exactly 72 hours after we rolled out of it.

After a solid 6 hour nap I needed something healthy that wasn’t slathered in barbecue sauce.  We headed to Cool Greens where I dug into a wrap and a cup of tomato basil.  If you’re ever looking for something healthy in the OKC area, this place was delicious, everything tasted so fresh.

I was then dropped off at the airport to head back to Big D, and back to reality.  That place was so dead.  It was almost creepy how few people were traveling that night.

Only in Oklahoma…

How am I supposed to buy more OU stuff I don’t need if you’re closed Big 12 store??  Rude.

4 Responses to “Memphis in Pictures”

  1. [SMASH] at Sweat Style Swoon May 4, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Fun! Sounds like Beale St was a blast! 🙂 Glad you’re back.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weight Loss Challenge Week 5 « Pretty Awkward - May 5, 2011

    […] be honest, I ate pretty terribly over the weekend.  The only thing available to eat at the festival was barbecue and carnie food.  I managed to snack on Larabars, Lunabars and fruit and I did eat a […]

  2. True Life: I’m a General Life Blogger « Pretty Awkward - August 5, 2011

    […] area restaurants, working it out and my deep love of anything related to cake.  I love to take fun trips with my fabulous friends.  Mostly I just like to talk about […]

  3. Year of the Road Trip « Pretty Awkward - August 25, 2011

    […] for me.  Weddings, randoms, and namely road trips.  Friends and I drove from Oklahoma City to Memphis in May for the Beale Street Music Festival.  Then in July I did a one way road trip to Las Vegas […]

Leave a Reply

