Cowbow Chow Down

26 Apr

To celebrate my big brother’s big 3-5 birthday this weekend, the fam headed out to Cowboy Chow in Roanoke.  They are owned by the same folks as Twisted Root and are equally delicious.

I seriously would have eaten anything on this menu.  Everything looked that good.  Yum.  Must go back.

I got down to business documenting our trip there.

Pretty sure he’s making fun of me.  Gawwwd I need a tan.

We ordered some of their Navajo Fry Bread (served with black bean dip and clover honey) and a round of their Fried Green Tomato Lollipops.  Yep you read that right.

I tried to talk everyone into just ordering one of everything on the menu, but they didn’t seem as into the ideas as I was.

Cast Iron Chicken Pot Pie

Tater Parfait (brisket layered with mashed potatoes, gravy, and other yummies)

The Cowboy Grilled Cheese.  Brisket.  Cheddar.  Cramy Horseradish Sauce.  Homemade Chips?  What weight loss challenge?  I washed this down with a Bloody Maria, a Bloody Mary with tequila instead of vodka!

There were also ribs, chicken fried steak, and regular grilled cheeses for the little ones.

If you’re in the mood for some down home flavor (I’m never not in the mood for that) I highly recommend Cowboy Chow.  You can enjoy their oh so tasty, not at all healthy dishes in a legit western atmosphere.  In addition to Roanoke you can also find them in Deep Ellum, they are located next to Twisted Root in both locations.

Happy Nom-ing.

4 Responses to “Cowbow Chow Down”

  1. Tyly April 26, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    Oh my gosh, that all looks AMAZING.

  2. [SMASH] at Sweat Style Swoon April 26, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Yum! I’ve seen the one in Deep Ellum [always after we leave Twisted Root] but always forget about it any other time. Hmm, we’ll have to check it out!

  3. Heather April 26, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Cowboy Chow! I have a fried Green tomato lollipop pic on my blog too. lol. Probably more than once. There is one in Deep Ellum too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. True Life: I’m a General Life Blogger « Pretty Awkward - August 5, 2011

    […] mostly write about my dog, music, nail polish, fun outfits, awesome Dallas area restaurants, working it out and my deep love of anything related to cake.  I love to take fun trips with my […]

Leave a Reply

