Warm Weather Racin’

25 Apr

Happy Monday, folks!  I’m hoping this week goes by super speedy because I’m heading out to Memphis (via OKC!) this weekend.

I have two upcoming races that I am super pumped about.

May 12:  The Katy 5k

I did this last year and had so much fun.  They host a huge after race party in Reverchon Park and food is provided by 40 local restaurants including (my new favorite bar) the Katy Trail Icehouse, Mattitos, Torchy’s Tacos, Toulouse and Lemon Bar, also Starbucks, Jamba Juice and Pinkberry.  Beer and wine are provided and there is live music.

Its a great event to do this time of year, when its not too hot here in Dallas.

June 4:  Firefly Run 5k & 10k

This race starts at dusk (8:30pm) and registration includes a glow in the dark wristband and two LED lights.  They have a costume contest encouraging runner to go all out with the lights, which, obviously, I plan to.  Following the race there is a party with live entertainment, I look forward to seeing what that entails!

I am all about the after party.

I signed up for the 10k, but I’m a little nervous.  They cut off the 10k if you don’t make it to the 5k point within 30 minutes.  My PR for a 5k is 31:02.  Time to start working on my speed!

The anti-morning person in me loves taking advantage of these night races.

Do you have any races coming up?

2 Responses to “Warm Weather Racin’”

  1. Tyly April 25, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Those races sound awesome!!!

    I have a 5k coming on May 21st, and I’m very anxious to see how I do.

  2. [SMASH] April 25, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Sounds like you have some awesome things coming up! What was happening at Katy Trail yesterday? Looked like some sort of event.

Leave a Reply

