Tools for success

12 Apr

Sometimes makeup is only as good as the tools you use to apply it. Over the years I’ve gotten more and more picky about the tools I use every day.

Let me share with you my favorite brushes and random beauty accessories.

Laura Mercier

1. Eye Crease Brush Great for brushing on your deeper, darker shadow in your crease.  Things don’t get messy with this thing.
1. All Over Eye Colour Brush I use this brush for the (usually) neutral color I put all over my lid
3. Corner Eye Colour Brush I use this to get intense colors neatly into the corners of my eye
4. Smudge Brush
Used to smudge my eyeliner and blend in with the shadow I use on my lash line
5. Flat Eyeliner Brush
For applying powdered eyeliner, I don’t wear this stuff on a daily basis, its normally reserved for nights out or special occasions
6. Velour Puff I love this puff, I have collected several of these over the years and they’re all still in good condition.  Definitely the best powder applicator I’ve come across.

***These brushes are all pretty pricey, so I take advantage of promotions, palettes or gift sets that include brushes.  For instance i have a duel brush that has the all over colour brush on one end and the eye crease brush on the other and I have the corner eye colour brush on a duel with the flat eyeliner brush.  Bargain!

I’ve had the majority of these brushes for at least 2 years, as long as you take care of them and give them the cleaning they deserve they can last you pretty much forever.

Sephora

1. Pink Tweezerman Tweezers My favorite! I also have the red ones.
2. All Over Shadow Brush Applies color with minimum mess, great for blending shadows.

Ulta

Ulta Eyebrow Brush These are pretty much all the same but I keep going back to this one

Randoms

1. Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler Timeless classic, my favorite absolute must have tool
2. Maybelline Blush Brush This gets the job done

What are your go to beauty tools?

What are you not picky about? I don’t really care about foundation sponges, I haven’t found any that really stand out to me, so I just buy the pack of 20 for $2 at the grocery store and they do me just fine.

Something to do: Check out Cardio Pizza’s Giveaway

One Response to “Tools for success”

  1. [SMASH] at Sweat. Style. Swoon. April 12, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    It’s funny because I worked as a counter manager for a make-up line post-college and now I don’t use any of those fancy brushes! I’m always in a rush to do my make-up so I just slap it on and go!

Leave a Reply

