Rockin’ and Rollin’, kinda

29 Mar

I tried to rock it, but mostly I just got rolled… over by the RnR Dallas Half.  I had a great time (I can say this now that its over!) and I’m glad I did it, but I have to say it was was a lot tougher for me than the Disney Princess Half.

It was really cool to do a race around my hometown, even though when I passed my street (before mile 3) I kinda wanted to run to my couch and sleep.  I never quite got into a groove, but I crossed the finish line and got that sweet Texas Star shaped medal.

Saturday I headed to the expo with The Beast, I had gone Friday but wanted to exchange my shirt since the sizes were running ginormous.  And The Beast wanted to check out the sweet deals on shoe in soles for her rude feet.

Confident from the get go.

Rockin’ Out, y’all.

The Brooks Cavalcade

Human Jesus Lizard!

After the Expo it was lunch time… Bloody Mary’s may have been consumed. 

This brings me to race day.  Get a load of the crowd.  See the sun?  Nope, it was nowhere in sight.  So much for all that sunblock!

My view from Corral 10.  Holla.

Slowly but surely corral after corral hit the starting line.

 

Almost time to roll.

This was when I realized my Garmin was dead.  D E A D.  Dead.  Crap.

I’m really inconsistent about speed.  I need to know how fast I’m (not) going so I can adjust and gauge and know what the heck I’m doing.  I have ADD and am unable to remember the time on the clock from mile to mile.  For a toy I’ve only had since Christmas, I really depend on this thing a lot and not having it was a huge deal.  It was on the charger all night, I guess I just didn’t have it clicked into the cradle right?  There is really no telling.

Without knowing my speed or distance (between miles) I settled into viewing the lovely sites of Big D.

 

Old Red Courthouse

Reunion Tower and some runners

If you’re ever designing a race and want people to run fast, have the course go by the county jail.

 

Despite the fact that the course went through some of Dallas’ most beautiful and historic neighborhoods, I managed to only take pictures of the ugliest parts of town.  We ran by a place called Broken Glass Auto Repair… scenic.

I was ready to get to mile 3 because that’s when I would start seeing my peeps.  I had fabulous peoples (the parents, some fab ladies and MY DOG) at miles 3, 4, 6, 8, 9 and 11.  I love them so much!  They were there to take my dead Garmin and useless sunglasses and hook me up with Body Glide and Aleve.  My BFF (now called Coach Kel) even ran with me from 9.5 -11.5.  Big fat thank you to Jamie, Leslie and Kelly and of course the ‘rents.  This race would have been a lot more painful without their faces and super awesome signs.

This is really me yelling at my mom to ‘have you ever used a camera, just take the picture!’

Lookin’ smart.

After Coach Kel peaced out I had just under two miles to kill before the finish line.  Fortunately the scenery just kept getting better and better.

Texas Star!

Thank you lord!

Dunzo.

I was completely drained after this race.  I took an hour nap and went to sleep at 8 and was still zapped all day Monday.  I blame the weather, after a day in the 80s on Saturday, race weather was in the low 50s, quite a difference.  Oh, Texas, your weather never ceases to confuse my body and my immune system.

I thought Rock n Roll put on a really great race.  Everything I witnessed was super organized and they managed to put a little fun into everything.  The expo had a nice variety of Vendors (including RunDisney!) and some fab photo ops.

The only critique I can even come up with is the t-shirt.  It was kind of mehhh and the sizing was way off.  Its clearly a men’s shirt, in no way is it meant for a woman’s body.  As a race that benefits the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, they should really have a ladies options since so many ladies will be running a race attached to Komen.

Speaking of… Major shout out to all those who ran in honor of a loved one and a HUGE ‘omigod you’re so amazing, I cannot even comprehend’ to all the survivors that ran.  So inspiring, there are no words.

I would run this race again, but probably with more than three training runs the month before.  My bad.  That may explain why I felt like I got beaten in my sleep the next day.

 

8 Responses to “Rockin’ and Rollin’, kinda”

  1. natalie March 29, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Great recap. So cool that everyone came out to support you, and I love that Kelly even ran a few miles for fun. 🙂 Yay you!

  2. [SMASH] March 29, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Congrats! So happy to hear you had a good experience [despite being Garmin-less!] and the photos you took are so pretty.

  3. tara March 30, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I was in the same corral!!! I remember seeing your supporters signs too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So sleepy « Pretty Awkward - April 6, 2011

    […] Fact:  The route of the RnR Dallas went down Houston St past Dealey Plaza to Elm St past the Book Depository and grassy knoll.  […]

  2. Weight Loss Challenge « Pretty Awkward - April 7, 2011

    […] I am currently down about 65 pounds from my highest weight, with about 20ish more to go before reaching my “dream weight”.  My weight loss pretty much came to a screeching halt last summer when I switched my number one priority from dropping weight to running miles.  I had completed several 5ks by then, so I trained for a 10k, an 8 miler, a 15k and finally my first half marathon (Disney Princess Half Marathon!), which was quickly followed up by another half marathon (RnR Dallas). […]

  3. Q1 2011 Wrap Up « Pretty Awkward - April 14, 2011

    […] had several undocumented fun nights out, visited a Harley shop, and kinda sorta ran the Rock n Roll Dallas Half Marathon.  March, you were positively delightful and […]

  4. Training for Tink « Pretty Awkward - July 26, 2011

    […] Signing up for the Tinkerbell Half has greatly motivated me to get down to business with my running.  I have been a major slacker in the running department since the Rock n Roll Half Marathon. […]

  5. Too much? « Pretty Awkward - September 21, 2011

    […] exception of this race.  And while I do enjoy the occasional challenge, running a PRnRPDR (Post Rock n Roll Personal Distance Record, dude) in the heat of the day was not exactly on my to do […]

Leave a Reply

