Its All in the Eyes

7 Mar

I’ve said it before, I’m a little obsessed with makeup.  I love playing around with colors in a subtle, fun way that keep it just conservative enough to wear in my corporate environment.

These are some of my favorite items for the eyes.

Primer

This is a must have for those with oily skin like myself.  These fabulous items keep my eye liner and shadow looking fresh all day.  No creases on this girl.  I’ve been a loyal user of Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion for years, but recently discovered Smashbox’s Photo Finish Lid Primer when I received their Wish for the Perfect Primers set for Christmas.

I put one of these on right after I apply my foundation.

Liner

When it comes to eyeliner I tend to be partial to two brands:  Laura Mercier (duh) and Ulta’s store brand.

For every day use, I will use Laura Mercier’s Kohl Eye Pencil, Ulta’s Automatic Eyeliner or Ulta’s Eye Liner Pencil.  I have these in a variety of colors, brown, gray,  purple, turquoise and gold.  Sometimes I’ll coordinate with what I’m wearing and sometimes I’ll wear turquoise just because it puts me in a better mood.  There is really no rhyme to my reason.

For nights out or when I want a little extra drama and oomph I’ll add on Laura Mercier’s Eye Liner in black ebony.  I apply with a flat brush dabbed in a little water.  Whether you wear alone or pair with another line it will definitely make your eyes pop.  Fabulous.

Shadow

I am a total eyeshadow whore.  I have palettes upon palettes, some boasting colors I would never dream of wearing in public (try as I may I just cannot rock canary yellow eye shadow).  Obviously I’m loyal to Laura Mercier and Smashbox, but I am also a huge fan of Nars’ shadow collection, they make fabulously shimmery colors from neutrals to brights.  In my makeup collection you will see lots of Nars Eyeshadow Duos, Laura Mercier Matte Eye Colour, Smashbox Eye Shadow Trios.

Lashes

I was blessed with short, stubby, blonde eyelashes.  I need all the help I can get in this department, which is why I kick things off with the most fabulous tool, Shu Uemura’s Eyelash Curler.  Every beauty blog, magazine and store says this is the best and I would not dare argue that

Bow down, y’all!

Because I do not have lush lashes I love to try new mascara after new mascara.  I am not really loyal to one in particular, but for the past six months or so I’ve had a fave trio.  Maybelline Falsies, Cover Girl Lash Blast and Rimmel Glam’Eyes.  All are very different, promising a variety of effects, but most importantly they are CHEAP.  I tend to stock up on these when I have an Ulta coupon lying around


Leave a Reply

