A week of magical eating

14 Feb

Or something.

I had the fortune to venture out to several new to me restaurants this week.  Let me share with you the breakdown.

Seasons 52

This was the freshest meal I can recall having pretty much ever.  Seasons 52 is known for serving low calorie healthy meals.  They have a fantastic wine selection and the servers are very knowledgeable about what wine to pair with your meal.  I enjoyed the grilled vegetable plate with a glass of cab.  The veggies were full of flavor, not overseasoned or greasy and there was a huge variety ranging from carrots, red peppers and golden beets.  I ended the meal on a sweet note with the Chocolate Peanut Butter Mini dessert.  To die for.   I could eat 10 of them, but then it probably wouldn’t be under 400 calories.

Whiskey Cake

I first read about this new(ish) Plano restaurant in a Daily Candy email.  It was love at first site for me and their menu.  I would seriously eat anything this place had to offer.  I started off with their delicious Guava Gimlet (vodka, pineapple juice, lime juice, simple syrup and guava) while we waited for our table.  Once seated I switched to their Honey Basel Collins (Gin, honey, lemon juice, basil and soda).  So refreshing.  Either cocktail would be perfectly enjoyed out on a patio.  My favorite quality in a drink.  I had their spinach and chicken salad which came with a great, tangy vinaigrette dressing.  So good.  This place has a very homey atmosphere, kinda makes you feel like you’re eating in your family’s kitchen.  Great ambiance.  I can’t wait to go back.

Cibus

I had walked by this North Park restaurant at least 100 times before I finally visited for lunch this weekend.  We dined out on their fabulous patio which is out in North Park’s huge courtyard.  Great atmosphere for a mall restaurant.  My friends and I split the Lobster Risotto as an appetizer and it was so addicting.  I could not get enough of it.  I followed that up with the Cibus Benedict.  Holy yum.  This plate included poached eggs on grilled polenta with crabmeat and sauteed spinach topped with a parmesan sauce.  It came with roasted potatoes but I opted to switch those out for an additional side of spinach.  Everyone’s food looked great and this would be the perfect place to take a break from an afternoon of shopping.  Next time I’m there I will definitely opt for the patio again.

Houlihan’s (Addison)

This was my first trip to this chain restaurant and I have to say I’m sold.  I made it there for a late dinner last night and enjoyed some of their small plates.  I tasted the goat cheese and artichoke poppers (so tasty!), a pulled pork slider and their spinach salad (which came with a sweet poppyseed dressing that was so good).  I sat in the bar here and it had a good Saturday night atmosphere and hilarious bartenders.  I would definitely go back, nothing bad ot say about this place.

Leave a Reply

